Mitchell’s Budget Committee nominee Hannum has been habitually delinquent on property taxes

Sharron Hannum has done good things for our community and I commend her for her service.  The Mayor has nominated to her to serve on the Budget Committee and the Purchasing Commission.  There’s one big problem though; she doesn’t pay her taxes on time.

A call to the Trustee’s office on Wednesday confirmed that Mayor Ed Mitchell’s unelected nominee for the Budget Committee and Purchasing Commission has been habitually delinquent in paying her property taxes.  According to the Trustee’s office, both of Sharon Y. Hannum’s parcels have been delinquent three years in a row.  One parcel was turned over to the Clerk and Master for collection on the delinquent taxes.  That property became delinquent again and remained delinquent, at the time of the call to the Trustee’s office.

The memberships of the Purchasing Commission and the Budget Committee are very important to the financial well being of the people of Blount County.  The people deserve new leadership with the integrity to speak up and make the difficult decisions necessary for the financial well being of all Blount County citizens.

People have repeatedly told me that they are tired of business as usual.  The people deserve to know how the Mayor may be stacking the deck against fixed rate financing, and how our purchasing process is not getting the best deals for the taxpayers.

My calls to Sharron Hannum went unreturned at the time of publication.

Since Hannum will answer to the Mayor, instead of the people, it’s important that the people of Blount County have the opportunity to weigh in on the subject now.  The commission must approve or reject her nominations.  Any of the three great ladies, that the voters elected to serve on the commission, will do a fine job serving on the Budget Committee and/or the Purchasing Commission.  The three ladies have already proven they are the most fiscally conservative commissioners.

Question for you, the taxpayers:  Do you think that someone who is habitually delinquent on their taxes should be in a position of power to make decisions affecting your tax rate and how your tax money is spent?

Commissioner Last name Phone Email District
Archie Archer 336-1999 aarcher@blounttn.org 1
Sean Carter 405-5113 scarter@blounttn.org 1
Mike Akard 982-6369 makard@blounttn.org 2
Mike Lewis 984-0413 mlewis@blounttn.org 2
Steve Samples 984-6238 ssamples@blounttn.org 3
Mike Caylor 323-3143 mcaylor@blounttn.org 3
Gary Farmer 983-4778 gfarmer@blounttn.org 4
Karen Miller 233-5185 kmiller@blounttn.org 4
Jerome Moon 984-3304 jmoon@blounttn.org 4
Jeff Headrick 982-3233 jheadrick@blounttn.org 5
Rick Carver 984-6774 rcarver@blounttn.org 5
Tom Cole 856-4995 tcole@blounttn.org 6
Dodd Crowe 742-6737 dcrowe@blounttn.org 6
Tom Stinnett 207-7207 tstinnett@blounttn.org 7
Tona Monroe 856-0814 tmonroe@blounttn.org 7
Brad Bowers 659-7711 bbowers@blounttn.org 8
Grady Caskey 368-4300 gcaskey@blounttn.org 8
Ron French 577-8393 rfrench@blounttn.org 9
Andy Allen 382-2528 aallen@blounttn.org 9
Jamie Daly 977–9822 jdaly@blounttn.org 10
Kenneth Melton 981-2683 kmelton@blounttn.org 10

 

2 thoughts on “Mitchell’s Budget Committee nominee Hannum has been habitually delinquent on property taxes

  1. Hi Tona:
    Once again the Mayor has showed us his inability to pick people who have a questionable background such as back taxes. This alone is one reason why this person should not be appointed to the budget and purchasing department.

    I would like to know if my district representative has ever voted NO on anything?

    The $88,000 plus spent to have engineering done for our school roof problems is too much money especially when the roofer is the one who
    places the bond. Any large roofing company has their own engineers who would not only redesign the roof and also do the installation. There are many large roofers that do millions of feet a year that have engineers on staff. This probably would save thousands of dollars in engineering fees.

    Thanks Tona — you are unbelievable for a country girl!

  2. I recall a few or so new men who ran for and got elected to commission offices. In part they ran due to the county’s debt and to ensure less taxation. But the freshman commissioners seem to me to have behaved as if they forgot why they ran for office in the first place, yet were they deceitful, or did they forget why they sought office ? Why was the honorable Jim Folts ignored when he said Kronos is a bad idea for the County ? I think Mr. Folts sold Kronos as was his job. The man should know what he was talking about.

    I am disappointed with those new guys on the commission who seems to have forgotten their promises to our people.

    May the holy fires of Truth purge this county of Its corruption. There are three Lady Commissioners who serve That Truth, and their presence is a blessing amongst our people.

    *Peace*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *