12 Republican Commissioners Vote to Increase Property Tax

June 16, 2011 Blount County, Tennessee Commission meeting

12 Yes – Tonya Burchfield, Tab Burkhalter, Richard Carver, Mike Caylor, Gary Farmer, Tom Greene, Brad Harrison, Scott Helton, Holden Lail, Mike Lewis, Chairman Kenneth Melton and Jerome Moon

9 No – Jim Folts, Ron French, Roy Gamble, Mark Hasty, Gerald Kirby, Peggy Lambert, Monika Murrell, Steve Samples and Gordon Wright

All 21 of our County Commissioners are Republicans.  Democrat Joe Gallegher summarized the problem well when he asked the Commission what Republicans stand for.

Blount County Mayor Ed Mitchell has vetoed the tax increase.  http://www.wate.com/story/14926196/mayor-vetoes-blount-county-property-tax-increase

A special called meeting will be held on June 24, at 6 PM for the Commission to decide whether to override the Mayor’s veto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *